Sounds, syllables, words and group of words that hold spiritual power.

Seven Chakra Meditation

Seven Chakra Meditation

Chakra Meditation

If you are new to chakra therapy it is a good idea to become familiar with what your chakras are.  Chakras are part of the energy body, not the physical body, and as such are the meeting points of the (non-physical) energy channels, called nadiis. Nadiis are channels in the subtle body through which the life force of your body moves.  When a specific chakra point is out of alignment you will notice symptoms that can be traced to that point.

There are times when specific chakras need attention but I like to do this full seven chakra meditation to get in full alignment.  I like to do this with some meditation music in the background.

Start out by focusing on your 1st chakra which is your root chakra located at the base of your tailbone.  This one grounds you and charges you from the earth.  Focus on the color red and repeat the mantra “I AM” three times.

Then move on to the 2nd chakra which is located mid abdomen under the belly button and above your groin.  This one deals with emotional feelings.  Focus on the color orange and repeat the mantra “I FEEL” three times.

Next is your 3rd chakra located at your belly button.  It deals with your will power and self-direction.  Focus on the color Yellow while repeating the mantra “I WILL” three times.

The 4th chakra is located on your heart.  It is the center of your heart and connects you to love and compassion.  Focus on the color green and repeat the mantra “I LOVE” three times.

Your 5th chakra is located on your throat.  It deals with psychic conciousness and the true meaning of communication.  Focus on the color sky blue while repeating the mantra “I SPEAK” three times.

Next is the 6th chakra which is the 3rd eye and located between your brows.  This is where visualization occurs and psychic awareness.  Focus on this area while seeing the color Indigo and repeat the mantra “I SEE” three times.

Finally the 7th chakra is located at the crown of your head.  It is connected to spiritual awakening and inner wisdom from the divine.  Focus on the color Violet and repeat the mantra “I KNOW” three times.

After this chakra repeat I AM, I FEEL, I WILL, I LOVE, I SPEAK, I SEE AND I KNOW.  Focus on each point as you process back up.

You can spend as much time on each as you feel you need.  If one area feels like it needs more attention it is probably out of alignment.  After this meditation you should feel fully recharged and renewed.


Ong namo guru dev namo

Ong namo guru dev namo


Ong namo guru dev namo is a powerful mantra used a lot in Kundalini yoga. It can be broken up as:

Ong Namo – I bow to the subtle divine wisdom
Guru Dev Namo – I bow to the divine teacher within

It was taught by Yogi Bhajan to allow yourself to relate to that divine teacher within yourself.

I like to use it at the start of a meditation. Mantras have powerful energy behind them. This one is great if you feel you need to connect with your higher self. It opens your mind to look past your ego and to accept Source energy.

It can be sung or spoken. Here is a link to a musical version: